Life in a suitcase!

Life in a suitcase!

Over the last few years of living “state side” again, I have managed to collect quite a bit of stuff. I still have notably less stuff than almost everyone I know, but I still have more stuff than I am used to having. The elliptical machine, the furniture, the electronics, the abundance of clothing I don’t really wear. It is awfully wasteful and a tickle of annoyance is always there that after years of living very minimalist when it comes to clutter, I suddenly have so much. I miss the days when I could live out of two suitcases quite easily and my brain was not fogged up with concern about what to do with all my crap, because stuff really is crap and crap is just stuff.

Now, planning to go expat again by August, I am trying to get rid of my excess stuff. It is nice stuff. Really nice stuff actually, but it is too hard to take it with me. My home in Panama has stuff in it already so adding this stuff would be overkill, not to mention very, very expensive to ship. So, I am sending my stuff to good homes. Some of it is going to family and friends, some will be sold via CraigsList and eBay and some will be donated to charity. I will miss a lot of it, but in a way I will be happy to see it go. I hope someone enjoys the stuff, someone who can make good use of it.

The only new “stuff” I am acquiring is a new (used actually, most of it is from eBay) wardrobe of natural fiber, lightweight clothing suitable for the boiling steam bath that is Panama. I love Panama but the heat and humidity really gets to me. So, all linen, 100% cotton. Simple, well made stuff. No nylon/poly that will melt on me. The loose fit, laganlook stuff is too boho and a bit matronly for me, but I am sacrificing style for not having a heat stroke. Fun times 🙂

Categories: Expat Interest, Tourist Interest | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

